Classroom Funnies

3 Dec

Last week I was talking to my colleagues about my return to the classroom next year.  The conversation turned to telling funny stories featuring students that we have taught.

This got me thinking about all the funny things that my students have said to me over the years.

Here are a few of the best:

1. Two weeks before my wedding.

Student: Are you getting excited about getting your baby?

Me: Um, What do you mean?

Student: Well didn’t you know that when you get married God gives you a baby!

Thankfully it doesn’t happen that quickly!

2. A Hair Salon was set up  in home corner and I had been told it was time for my appointment.  I local hairdresser had given us capes, hair dryers and colour charts for us to use.

Student: Would you like a colour today?

Me: Yes, that would be great.

Student: Ok, I will try to find a colour for you (flips out the colour chart and starts comparing colours).

Students: We have a problem!! The top of your hair is a different colour to the bottom!’

Me: Don’t worry, I’m off to the hairdresser this weekend to fix it.

3.  We were studying the “Olden Days”.

Student: When did the world get colour?

Me: Well, when God made the world he made it with colour.

Student: No, When did we get to SEE the colour?

Me: We could always see the colour.

Student: No, when did the world change from being all black and white.

Ahh, we had been discussing black and white TV, watched some black and white video snippets and looked at black and white photos.  So on the evidence presented to this student he thought the world was once black and white – how cute is that!

What funny things have kids said to you?

4 Responses to “Classroom Funnies”

  1. Zita 03/12/2012 at 9:17 PM #

    A few weeks ago a female student (Miss 6) looked a me with a funny look, when I asked her what was wrong she promptly announced… “You sound like a boy… You have a boy’s voice!” Another a few days later looked me up and down and asked…”Are you getting a baby?”… And for the record I am neither a boy, nor pregnant!!!

    • marleisa 03/12/2012 at 9:47 PM #

      He he, it’s hard not to be offended when they ask you if you’re having a baby. It gives you serious body image issues!

  2. Teresa W 04/12/2012 at 8:34 AM #

    Two best friends on year 6 camp were having a conversation after lights out – naturally though noone was listening. One of the girls had found a boyfriend in the course of the camp. The other friend says: “Oh Betty, you are so lucky to have a boyfriend. I’ll never get a boyfriend. I’m too ugly!” To which her bosom buddy replied: “Don’t worry Jane. One day you’ll find someone as ugly as you!” (I’m sure she meant it in the nicest possible way).

  3. Anne-Maree d 08/12/2012 at 10:35 PM #

    I had a Principal take my class of five year olds whilst I had lunch. (Usual relief unavailable). He thought he was doing OK, until one boy (with a gorgeous English accent) looked at him and said “you don’t know what you’re doing, do you?” Priceless!

Leave a Reply

