Cricket Widow

6 Dec

Do you enjoy watching cricket?

I have to admit that it is not a sport that I have a lot of interest in.  I’ve never even watched a game! Actually I did go to a 20 20 match a couple of years ago – I took a magazine and wasn’t too devastated when it rained and we got to leave early!

The sport, cricket and I could coexist on earth together just fine if my husband didn’t insist on playing.  I dread cricket season.  It is not just the game itself – which takes up most of Saturday and sometimes Sunday too, but it’s training twice a week, raffle duty at the pub on Friday and Saturday nights, going and watching other grades play and the cost of the equipment is ridiculous!  Especially those bats, that need to be pressed and oiled and banged in all the time.  Then there’s the sore muscles, radox baths and physio appointments.  I’m not sure how you can get so injured playing a sport where you stand in the same spot half of the time (we have even had a broken hand!).

IMG_0281

It sounds like I am a bad wife when I say that I have actually never been to see my husband play.  My two main excuses are that I have very fair skin that can’t tolerate being in the sun and the second is the game is so darn boring!  I did attempt once to show up – it was the wrong field, I couldn’t find him, he didn’t answer his phone so I turned around and went home.

IMG_0283

Is cricket season over yet?

If you can find something good about the game of cricket – please feel free to tell me!

P.S After I wrote this entry my husband asked me if I wanted to go to Brisbane on Sunday to watch a game!!

3 Responses to “Cricket Widow”

  1. Cate 06/12/2012 at 9:04 PM #

    I’m hearing you! My husband made his cricket comeback this season. I however have been to cheer him on and I will never get that hour of my life back! Hang in there just 4 months to go.

    • marleisa 06/12/2012 at 10:06 PM #

      Hehe – does one hour count as watching? Dare you to watch the WHOLE game.

      • nathan 07/12/2012 at 3:57 PM #

        it is your duty as a wife to support his sporting prowess, after all you think of all that shopping time that your husband stands by your side putting on that fake smile and pretending that he is enjoying every moment. and i have heard how much you can shop!! this is time that we as loving partners never get back either.

Leave a Reply

