2013 School Year

11 Dec

I am already excited about the 2013 School Year.

Finally I have been allocated my grade and school and I am happy to announce that I will be teaching in the early years.

After having a two-year break from the classroom I am returning with tons of new knowledge, ideas and bucket loads of enthusiasm.  I am already making important decisions on classroom routines and structures that I would like to put into place.

Most importantly I am already designing my classroom layout and colour scheme!  I know this sounds trivial to some, but getting your classroom layout correct is essential.  The classroom is my office, therefore it needs to be aesthetically appealing to me and the layout needs to support my teaching methods.

IMG_0306

I was in spotlight the other day and I have purchased this round red ottoman.  I will use it to sit on when working with small groups on the floor.  Using this as inspiration I am going to use this as the basis for my classroom design.

These are my thoughts so far:red and white spots

  • red curtain with white spots/stripes to cover up open bookcases.
  • I’ll spray my cane reading chair red.
  • My current desk stationery is aqua and navy blue – this will need to be replaced in the red and white theme
  • I’ll use red and white spot/stripe material to cover pin boards
  • red striped and spotted cushions for the reading corner

This list should keep me busy for while.

Any other ideas for me?

For those of you who are teachers what do you think of this saying that I found on Pinterest?

teacher_saying

6 Responses to “2013 School Year”

  1. Zita 11/12/2012 at 6:15 PM #

    I am excited about returning to the classroom as well!! I have been trolling Pinterest a lot of late and ‘pinning’ many wonderful ideas and resources from other motivated and motivating teachers!!! Not sure if I’ll have a set colour theme but certainly aiming to be very organised and look forward to putting all my new knowledge into place as well!!

    • marleisa 11/12/2012 at 8:30 PM #

      Yep, I have been giving Pinterest a workout too. I even made my name tags today! I really am excited!

  2. Kelly HTandT 11/12/2012 at 8:02 PM #

    I have never thought about class room design before, how exciting! Not that I’m a teacher, but I just never realised that teachers have creative freedom when it comes to their rooms. That’s awesome. You know, I think aqua (stationery) would go with the red and white! I think it would really pop. Love your ideas though. x

    • marleisa 11/12/2012 at 8:32 PM #

      Yep, setting up my classroom is one of my favourite parts.

  3. EssentiallyJess 11/12/2012 at 10:33 PM #

    I’m a huge fan of red, so love this idea!!

  4. Jacana 12/12/2012 at 1:51 PM #

    As a teacher – the saying is just BRILLIANT.

Leave a Reply

