First Day Excitement

25 Jan

Who is excited about the first day of school?

I am!

For the past two years I have been sitting in a office, a very quiet office –  staring at a computer on the first day of school – boring.

This year I am back in a school which will be buzzing with excited children, excited parents and excited teachers.

My biggest issue with the first day of school is learning all the names.

Not only do I have 24 students names to learn, but their parents and extended families, this is nearly 100 new names in one day.  And as I am at a new school this year I will already be in ‘learning name overload’ from learning all my co teachers names.

Unfortunately remembering peoples names is not my strength.  So on the first day of school I just worry about learning the kids names.  Parents names will go in one ear and out the other.  I’ll worry about them next week when I have the kids names down pat.

IMG_0553edited

My students name tags are all ready to go – wish me luck with the name learning.

The post First day Excitement first appeared on This is Who I Am by Marleisa

Today I am linking up with FLOG YOUR BLOG FRIDAY

10 Responses to “First Day Excitement”

  1. Yvette @ Little Bento Blog 25/01/2013 at 7:42 AM #

    They look so cool!!! 🙂

    FYBF visit 🙂

  2. subversivereader 25/01/2013 at 8:04 AM #

    Big good luck wishes for the names! I used to work in a school where I often got at least some of the same students from year to year (multi age classes) so it was much easier – but last year I moved to a high school and had two classes of students to learn! (Luckily, parents and siblings weren’t as essential to know in a high school!)

  3. thekidsareallrightaustralia 25/01/2013 at 9:57 AM #

    So nice to know teachers get excited about the first day too!

  4. Kylez @ A Study in Contradictions 25/01/2013 at 1:39 PM #

    I am terrible at remembering names! I can’t remember the name of the carer at my daughters daycare and she told me twice last week on her first day. I think I was too nervous to remember it though, but now I am too embarrassed to ask her what it is!

  5. Salz 25/01/2013 at 3:37 PM #

    My kids are excited for the first day back and so am I lol. they are counting down the days. I think its because they are so bored at home lol.

  6. Have a laugh on me 25/01/2013 at 4:16 PM #

    All the best, I just got off the phone from a friend, a Prep teacher, she is just in the process of getting everything finalised for Tuesday – I really have a deeper appreciation for teachers because I have one for a friend. x

  7. Kelly HTandT 25/01/2013 at 7:30 PM #

    I can only imagine how tough that would be! I’m pretty good with names, but I must say I’ve never had to remember that many at once! Good luck 🙂 x

  8. Jacana 25/01/2013 at 8:28 PM #

    Very colourful name tags

  9. mamagrace71 26/01/2013 at 7:57 PM #

    Oh, those name tags are gorgeous! And what a great way to not get overwhelmed by it all…start with the kids’ names! Good luck for the first day! You’ll do great, I’m sure! x

  10. Old Pearly Jenkins 26/01/2013 at 8:52 PM #

    You leave my husband’s efforts (he teaches year four) to shame!!

Leave a Reply

