Mosquito Net Craft – Reading Corner

29 Jan

To create a reading corner zone in my classroom I wanted to use a mosquito net to define the area and so the area would still be visible for me to see what was going on in there!

After endless searching I was unable to find a red one – which is the colour I was looking for. So I enlisted the help of my very crafty mum to help me make one.

All you need area few metres of netting and a hula hoop.

IMG_0511

I couldn’t find a red hula hoop and was going to spray paint it red until mum suggested we cover it with ribbon – much easier!

IMG_0512 The slightly tricky part was sewing the netting onto the hoop.

IMG_0513

I then tied 4 pieces of ribbon onto the hoop and hung it up in my classroom.

IMG_0575

I’m pretty happy with how the reading corner looks. My mum also made me all the cushion covers for me as well.

Today I am linking up with Essentially Jess for IBOT (I Blog on Tuesdays).

The post Mosquito Net Craft first appeared on This is Who I Am by Marleisa

11 Responses to “Mosquito Net Craft – Reading Corner”

  1. Kylez @ A Study in Contradictions 29/01/2013 at 9:00 AM #

    Looks fabulous! I bet the kids will love it!

    #teamIBOT was here!

  2. Lisa@RandomActsOfZen 29/01/2013 at 10:32 AM #

    Oh each week you classroom looks even more gorgeous! Thank goodness for mums who can sew x

  3. Deb @ Home life simplified 29/01/2013 at 11:16 AM #

    that looks fab – my girls would love that at home – hula hoop is brilliant!

  4. Looks great. There is something similar at my little one’s day care and she loves it.

  5. Declutterbug 29/01/2013 at 12:08 PM #

    I love it, it looks really cool, can I ask a question….. What is the reason for the red? Is it a colour linked with learning or something? Or do you just like red? 🙂 looks great though, enjoy term one

    • marleisa 29/01/2013 at 1:14 PM #

      Red doesnt mean anything much. Whenever I get a new classroom I pick a colour to decorate it with. My last one was aqua. I bought a gumball ottoman for my classroom, which was red and it all stemmed from there!

  6. EssentiallyJess 29/01/2013 at 2:41 PM #

    Oh that’s awesome! I think I’ll make something like that for at home. The kids would love it

  7. subversivereader 29/01/2013 at 2:53 PM #

    Oh gorgeous! I’m going to be passing this onto a friend who was looking for a reading nook in her classroom!

  8. Have a laugh on me 29/01/2013 at 4:12 PM #

    My favourite colour – such a lovely spot for kids to hang out in x

  9. Actually Amy 29/01/2013 at 5:59 PM #

    It’s awesome, I have wanted to make something similar for my kids, but then we moved and our new house just isn’t big enough.

  10. Jacana 29/01/2013 at 7:14 PM #

    Looks amazing. I can’t believe how incredible your classroom is. Well Done

Leave a Reply

