The Dreaded Homework

8 Feb

This may come as a surprise to some but as a teacher I HATE homework.

Parents often WANT homework but in reality they don’t have TIME for homework.

Homework

As a teacher I totally get that families have busy lives.

I understand that it is not 1960 anymore, when kids were home in the afternoons with MUM with nothing else to do but homework and ride their bikes.

I acknowledge that kids do ballet, swimming, art classes, cricket, soccer and more after school.

I get that some of you arrive home at 5.30pm and are trying to get the washing in, bath the kids, cook dinner and do homework all at the same time.

Homework is meant to be a QUICK revision. Anything your child has for homework should of been taught at school previously.

So home readers should be a quick easy read with no stress and tears.

and if you don’t have time to do homework – that is OK! (no child in my class will ever get punished for not doing their homework!)

Do you know what’s actually more important than homework?

Engaging in a conversation with your child about their day and reading them a story at bedtime!

Family_reading

(Image Source)

Tell me what your thoughts are on homework?

Today I am linking up with FLOG YOUR BLOG FRIDAY

The post The Dreaded Homework in review first appeared on This is Who I Am by Marleisa

12 Responses to “The Dreaded Homework”

  1. mathandphysicstutor 08/02/2013 at 6:35 AM #

    I agree! Some people seem to have the idea that more work = more learning, but it’s important to have time to relax with family, too.

  2. aparentinglife 08/02/2013 at 7:56 AM #

    I agree that homework in the younger years needs to be quick simple and fun but there comes a point where it needs to be increased to properly prepare students for high school and studying.

  3. Cathy 08/02/2013 at 8:42 AM #

    I’m a teacher too and I totally agree with you. I actually wrote a post about it a while back (maybe last year? I used the same picture you chose)!

  4. When my child got maths homework that had not been taught in class, and I had to teach my son, that’s when I saw red! It was h/w given for the sake of it – not to build on anything learned throughout the day. When I wrote next to the maths that “this had not been taught”, teacher replied my son must have forgotten that lesson!

  5. Denyse Whelan 08/02/2013 at 5:23 PM #

    I hear you.
    I agree with you.

    Homework causes family disruptions & confusion. A parent asked a question about her child’s homework (year 1) last night as she wasn’t sure what the task meant.

    I commented that it’s instances like these which give teachers who set homework mindlessly a bad name.
    They’re not the majority I’m sure- but the practice of setting a “grade homework” sheet for all the grade when the classes have been covering different content is unprofessional.

    Rant not quite over.

    I’ve written about Homework twice on my blog & received very lengthy responses from teachers & parents. Homework is not school work at home!!

    It is as you described.

    Thank you!
    Denyse

  6. Annaleis from Teapots and Tractors 08/02/2013 at 6:48 PM #

    I’m with Denyse. Quick and easy to do so it consolidates learning. With kids doing lots of extracurricular activities they are braodening their experiences. I do think children and parents should read together every night!

  7. alison 08/02/2013 at 7:36 PM #

    I hate homework! I would much rather my kids did after school activities – just as educational in my opinion.

  8. Grace @ MumWifeTeacherNerd 08/02/2013 at 11:00 PM #

    As a high school teacher I find it necessary, particularly when you find you don’t see a particular class for several days or more. However for my Year 7-10 students I try to keep it pretty quick, the senior I expect more and by that stage the should be operating pretty independently – however, I still don’t set new concepts for HW, it is not fair on the kids and even harder on the parents.

  9. Twinkle in the Eye 09/02/2013 at 8:07 AM #

    That is a wonderful thing to hear from a teacher and I could not agree more. Thanks for Flashing 🙂

  10. Have a laugh on me 10/02/2013 at 2:03 PM #

    I love hearing this because I try so hard to engage my daughter after her school day. I actually don’t mind homework and want to make it seem fun not a chore. 🙂

  11. mamagrace71 10/02/2013 at 2:45 PM #

    Great post! My boys aren’t at that stage to have homework yet but I fear it’ll all happen to soon. I would hate to see my young little men get stressed out over school so early in their education!

  12. Anne-Maree 12/02/2013 at 3:35 PM #

    Here! Here! The voice of reason and sanity.

Leave a Reply

