Posts – Pre Plan or On The Spot

19 Feb

Do you pre plan your blog posts?

I started this blog at beginning of the school holidays – when I had my days to myself.  During this time I would write my posts in the mornings (sitting on the couch watching morning TV in my pajamas).  I would then scroll through and read other blogs and comment and be done and dusted by 11.00am.

This_is_Who_I_Am

But now that I am back at work that is no longer possible.

Last week I  barely wrote at all! The week before I was better but I did write all my posts on the weekend and just published them throughout the week.  Damm you work!! You are getting in the way of my blogging!!

So I have decided that it is best if I write my posts on a Sunday – working out which one I would post on which day (often depending on what linky I am linking up with) and storing them in my drafts folder.

Then when I get up in the morning all I need to do is hit publish on that days post and add my link to my linky party of choice.  This means that I don’t get a chance to read and comment on other blogs until that night (and I’ll admit that it even may be the following night).  But that’s what’s working for me at the moment.

How do you manage writing your blog posts and commenting while working full time?

Today I am linking up with Essentially Jess for IBOT (I Blog on Tuesdays) and  You’re Gonna Love It Tuesday.

Love_It_Tuesday

The post Posts – Pre Pan or On The Spot first appeared on This is Who I Am by Marleisa

11 Responses to “Posts – Pre Plan or On The Spot”

  1. aparentinglife 19/02/2013 at 7:59 AM #

    I like to have mine all scheduled in advance but does that actually happen. Still I will keep trying. Other than that I just write and publish. Mind you if it is late at night when I am writing I will generally just schedule it for early in the next day.

  2. Rachel 19/02/2013 at 11:29 AM #

    I’m in exactly the same position – I started on the schol holidays and now I’m playing catch-up just to publish one post a week! I’m aslo trying to “get ahead” on my posts so that I can just hit publish on the day but it’s proving difficult. My hubby works weekends so I can’t get any writing peace then, which leaves me with after work when I’m exhausted. I’ll get there though – my aim is to publis twice a week consistently so that’s what I’m working towards!

  3. Zita 19/02/2013 at 4:04 PM #

    I have been pre-planning mine ever since you showed me how! lol…

  4. redlandcitygirl 19/02/2013 at 5:15 PM #

    I have heaps of drafts on the go. I try to have my posts for the week sorted and scheduled by Monday. It doesn’t always happen though!

  5. Have a laugh on me 19/02/2013 at 7:42 PM #

    My work and kids also get in the way of my blogging – I just have to snatch time when I can!! xx

  6. musertegan 19/02/2013 at 9:00 PM #

    I write most of my posts when DS is in bed. There is just no time during the day with an active 3.5yo. I usually post them as I write them, but if it’s late at night, then I pimp them the next morning so there is more chance of people seeing it.

  7. joanthechickenmama 20/02/2013 at 12:58 AM #

    I am the slowest writer in the world. I try to have a few that are in “tweak” mode during the week. Since I write a lot about what’s going on with my chickens/pig/goat/dog I don’t plan ahead because I have no idea what they’re going to be doing! (Stopped by from You’re Gonna Love It Tuesday)

  8. Mixed Gems 20/02/2013 at 12:40 PM #

    I totally changed my approach to blogging at the start of 2012. I had to. I was returning to work that April and came to the conclusion I was spending far too many hours on social media. I wrote quite a bit about this journey in my various posts through early 2012. I did try scheduling posts but I tend to write best in the spur of the moment when inspiration hits. Consequently, I have had many weeks through 2012 where I didn’t post much or very regularly and definitely didn’t get to reply to all comments. I also stopped visiting as many blogs, dropped twitter and was on FB much less. Blogging was also never a business for me, so being a hobby, it had lower priority. Something has to give and I had to prioritise my family and my home life. Doesn’t mean I don’t miss the blogging. But I made my choice. Blogging and social media can be all consuming. Bloggers are a prolific bunch, writing almost non-stop and the pressure to keep on the ball and in the know for fear of falling off the radar is strong and real. I’ve accepted being more a lurker nowadays. I hope you find a happy balance for you somewhere in there. Good luck! Visiting via IBOT.

  9. Me 20/02/2013 at 2:45 PM #

    I find I write better on the spur of the moment and battle to sit down and come up with a whole bunch of posts for the upcoming week. I have scheduled a few posts in the past but not very often.
    I tend to blog and comment one or two nights a week at home (and sometimes during the day at work if I am not busy) and very occasionally on the weekend. I have found that it is easier to build a rapport with fewer bloggers than read a lot of blogs haphazardly.
    If I link in I try to read the people on the same line as me and then one from every other line – sometimes I can do it, sometimes I can’t.
    Hope you find something that works for you !
    Have a great week !
    Me
    #IBOT visitor

  10. bossymummy 20/02/2013 at 3:20 PM #

    I am a last minute crammer in every aspect of my life, so I am always leaving it to the night before it goes live. I found with working, even though only part time, it was too overwhelming, so I am on a hiatus until I finish work in a few weeks. Good luck with your plan 🙂

  11. Jacana 20/02/2013 at 11:58 PM #

    I attempt to do pretty much the same thing. I do miss the hours I use to pour over other blogs.

Leave a Reply

