Social Media Bickering

5 Mar

So, I am reality new to twitter – I’ve only been on board for about a year now.

Twitter

I really like a good short, sharp and witty tweet.

I follow a mixture of friends, celebrities and fellow bloggers.

I do get slightly annoyed with people who tweet about shows before they have been aired here in QLD (time difference issue). But I have learnt not to check twitter on Room Reveal Night (#theblock).

The part that is starting to really annoy me is the twitter bickering.  Do I really need to read people’s twitter fights? I’ll admit they can be amusing and I may have just read one out aloud to my husband, laughing at the them but is twitter really the place for it?

Tonight people were on fire! What I find the most amusing is that people respond to sarcastic, unfriendly tweets.  I think that if someone replies to your tweet in an unfriendly way your best response is………………..to do nothing at all.

Check me out on twitter @marleisaconnors

I promise I won’t start a fight with you 🙂 !

Today I am linking up with Essentially Jess for IBOT (I Blog on Tuesdays) and  You’re Gonna Love It Tuesday.

Love_It_Tuesday

The post Social Media Bickering first appeared on This is Who I Am by Marleisa

14 Responses to “Social Media Bickering”

  1. Mandy Webber 05/03/2013 at 8:29 AM #

    I have seen those twitter fights! Very puzzling indeed and does certainly make for a good laugh sometimes! Why bother??! regarding tv/movie spoilers, I get them at my local video rental place all the time. Now, that is annoying because I can’t shut the lady off when she’s trying to recommend a movie and telling me the entire story 🙂

  2. coloursofsunset 05/03/2013 at 11:39 AM #

    I just clicked over to follow you. I don’t tend to see/get involved in any twitter fights. And i’m the opposite to you – I go to twitter in search of the spoilers! -Aroha #teamIBOT

  3. Robyn (@slightly_deep) 05/03/2013 at 3:08 PM #

    I still struggle to ‘get’ twitter. I think I am probably not on there often enough to really get into it properly. Following you now 🙂

  4. Stacey-Lee 05/03/2013 at 3:29 PM #

    I’m very new to twitter, having only entered the tweeting world a few months back. I often feel like I am stumbling in on other people’s conversations, haven’t seen a fight yet but I know that I would not instigate or involve myself in one but most likely read with interest 🙂

  5. mamagrace71 05/03/2013 at 7:11 PM #

    Going to look for you right now! See ya over in Twitter land!

  6. hikerjules 05/03/2013 at 7:14 PM #

    Hi, yep totally agree about twitter, it should be fun and positive and not where you hang your dirty washing. I LOVE the block button (face palm). 🙂 as for timezones urgghhhh PERTH is last to see everything, we can’t even join in, with twitter parties or voting. 😦
    I found you via #IBOT have an awesome week.

  7. Zita 05/03/2013 at 7:15 PM #

    I am with you on that whole spoiler alert/daylight savings thing! Especially when i forget and am scrolling through! I am intrigued to hear about one of these fights! The thing that I don’t understand is thw twitter trolling business that people do, when it comes to social media I live by the ‘if you don’t have anything nice to say, don’t say anything at all’ rule….Also, I heard a cyber safety expert speak to a group of High School students last year and he was fantastic when he said to the kids, ‘If you wouldn’t say it in the real world, don’t say it in the cyber world’ – Scary thing is though some people would say it in the real world…. I follow Taylor Swift on Twitter and the stuff people say to that poor girl. I know she obviously has issues (gosh don’t we all!) but the HORRID stuff people write to her on twitter makes my skin crawl and my blood boil for her. I figure, why follow her if you don’t like her!!!
    Anyway, that’s my say on the matter! 😉

  8. redlandcitygirl 05/03/2013 at 7:44 PM #

    Yep I’m with you. If you can’t say something nice, don’t say anything at all!

  9. Rita Azar 05/03/2013 at 8:20 PM #

    I agree with you, Twitter is certainly not the place to start a fight!

  10. rhian @melbs 05/03/2013 at 9:06 PM #

    I haven’t seen too many twitter fights but then that is because I am not very good with Twitter, I tend to do it for a bit then forget about it and then go back a few days later and any feud has blown over by then.
    I agree though, it is not cool to be airing your dirty laundry to the whole of the twitterverse? twittersphere? Well you know what I mean.
    Great to pop over from IBOT.

  11. Have a laugh on me 06/03/2013 at 9:50 AM #

    I must get on board Twitter – no need for nasty tweets I reckon – it’s just too easy to say stuff online and get away with it xx

  12. Kylez @ A Study in Contradictions 06/03/2013 at 1:24 PM #

    Personally I would never bother getting in to or having twitter fight, what a waste of time! But I do find them highly amusing when other people do and have been known to click back through tweets to get to the beginning of the sorry story. But only when I have nothing better to do (which isn’t often!)

  13. mummymanifestodotcom 06/03/2013 at 2:23 PM #

    I hate it when you come across a few conversational tweets with people who have obviously forgotten they are on twitter instead of in real life! As I am in Perth I don’t check twitter in case of spoiler alerts x

  14. Rachel 08/03/2013 at 12:17 PM #

    Agreed. The poeple I follow on Twitter are people who’s work in some capacity I admire or respect. I may not always agree with them but that’s all part of the fun. Different opinions = interesting discussion in my book. I’ll follow you mate – and I’ll promise not to fight either 🙂

Leave a Reply

