Five For Friday – Fun Stuff

8 Mar

It’s Friday! This means it’s time for my teacher post for Five for Friday.

This is where I share five new things that happened in my classroom this week.

  1. I Pads – We started using them for my small groups in Literacy.  I have three I Pads to use in the classroom so the students used them in pairs.  I had the teacher aide supervise this group as the students are “still in training” for using the I Pads.  Hopefully in another week or two they should be able to do I Pad activities independently (well, that’s the dream at this stage!).IMG_0654
  2. The paint experience this week was Crayon Etchings.  This is when the students use crayons to colour a whole page in a rainbow style.  You then roll black paint over the top and use a paddle pop stick to etch in a picture.  They look amazing – definitely worthy to display in the classroom.Black Etchings
  3. Our handwriting practice this week consisted of using cotton buds to write the letters of the alphabet (Prep) and our word family words (Year 1).IMG_0655
  4. On the weekend my husband lowered  my whiteboard to a height that is suitable for the students to use.  Writing on the whiteboard was a very popular activity this week.IMG_0648
  5. 1 – 25 Grid – We have started timing ourselves to see how fast we can fill in the 1 – 25 floor grid. So far our fastest time is 1minute and 11 secs.

Five_for_Friday

Today I am linking up with FLOG YOUR BLOG FRIDAY

The post Five for Friday – Fun Stuff in review first appeared on This is Who I Am by Marleisa

6 Responses to “Five For Friday – Fun Stuff”

  1. EssentiallyJess 08/03/2013 at 2:29 PM #

    It’s amazing how much education is changing. iPads are such a great tool. My kids love using the ones we have at home.

  2. robomum 08/03/2013 at 5:52 PM #

    We’re getting more of these at school as well. To be honest I’m not much of a pad/tablet person but the kids love them!

  3. Kirsty @ My Home Truths 08/03/2013 at 8:26 PM #

    iPads are used at my kids’ school too – they can be such a great educational resource. Can I say I wish I was a student in your classroom – it looks like a whole lot of fun!!!

  4. Have a laugh on me 09/03/2013 at 4:31 PM #

    I used to LOVE doing that crayon etching as a kid, I so want to get my kids to do it when they’re a bit older – as a new school mum I love your Five for Friday posts 🙂

    • marleisa 09/03/2013 at 4:37 PM #

      Thanks, I’m pretty sure after a while you will find what I do pretty much ‘run of the mill’! Enjoy your weekend.

  5. mamagrace71 09/03/2013 at 8:13 PM #

    These are great! I remember Crayon Etching! Loved doing it!

Leave a Reply

