A Teachers Curse

2 Apr

Have you heard about the teachers curse?

It is when teachers become sick the  MINUTE school holidays begin.  Actually for me my body couldn’t even wait that long, it started shutting down early!

I woke up last Wednesday with a sore throat and by the afternoon I had no voice left (I have never lost my voice before).  I went to school again on Thursday with a whisper of a voice as we had an Easter Bunny visit planned and things to finish off (those of you who are teachers you will all agree sometimes it is just easier to go to school).

Teacher_Sick

People were saying to me: “Oh it’s because you are starting to slow done – it’s been such a busy term” or “Teachers always get sick once they stop at holiday time”.

Yesterday I still had no voice and a attractive cough so I took myself off to the doctors.  I have be given antibiotics and told me to rest and not use my voice.  The doctors then asked my occupation, when I told him I was a teacher he said he would write me a medical certificate to have the week off!!

I looked at him and simply said: “Don’t bother I’m on holidays at the moment!”

The curse of the teacher prevails!

Today I am linking up with Essentially Jess for IBOT (I Blog on Tuesdays).

7 Responses to “A Teachers Curse”

  1. mummymanifestodotcom 02/04/2013 at 10:46 AM #

    Marleisa that is not good at all. Hope you feel better soon..maybe the doctor can save your medical certificate for the first week of school!

  2. coloursofsunset 02/04/2013 at 12:01 PM #

    oh no that is cruel!!! it often happens to me, too, though I’m not a teacher. I finally get a few days off and I really do think it is b/c my body finally has time to rest it just poops itself (in a very non literal way!). -Aroha (#teamIBOT)

  3. Rita Azar 02/04/2013 at 12:33 PM #

    I hope you will feel better soon and be able to enjoy the holiday Marleisa…

  4. iSophie 02/04/2013 at 1:51 PM #

    Oh that would be right! Rest up, hope you feel better soon.

  5. Kylez @ A Study in Contradictions 02/04/2013 at 2:42 PM #

    Oh that really sucks! I’m not a teacher but I somehow seem to get sick everyone I have holidays. And always on my birthday (the winter birthday curse!). I hope you get better soon and get to enjoy some of your holidays illness-free.

    #teamIBOT was here!

  6. Have a laugh on me 02/04/2013 at 9:08 PM #

    You know my daughter’s teacher got sick the Tues/Wed before kids broke up for school – SUCKS. Hugs and get well soon xx

  7. Me 03/04/2013 at 8:22 PM #

    That’s awful – hope you feel better soon !!!
    Take care.
    Me
    #IBOT visitor

Leave a Reply

