Does anyone like Show and Share?

9 Apr

This is very muchly a teacher post. But I’m asking the question to both teachers and parents alike.

Do you like Show and Share?

I know all about the educational benefits and outcomes and truth be told as a teacher I do find out some very interesting things (wink wink) during Show and Share time.  There have been a few parents that on occasions I have had trouble looking them in the eye and keeping a straight face (if you get my drift) after their childs presentation.

Teachers, do you like sitting through Show and Share each day in your classroom?

I personally shudder everytime a child in my class goes to the beach for a weekend.

Why, you ask?

Because I know that the following week that child for Show and Share will bring in the shells that they collected at the beach – yep all 43 of them! They will then painstakingly hold them up one by one explaining the details in each of them until I can’t take it any more and calmy mutter…Ok, just pick two more to show us.

shells

Parents, do you like Show and Share?

As teachers we would like to think that it is a learning experience at home where you assist your child in finding the perfect thing to share with us, you practice together what your child will say and offer suggestions.

or

Are we (teachers) kidding ourselves and is Show and Share something that you remember 2 minutes before you hop in the car and you send your child into their room to find something ‘quickly’ to share with us.

This leads me to my next question.

Should Show and Share have set topics?

For first term I let the students in my class bring in whatever they wanted each week to share with us.  Yes, I have learnt a lot a about Ninjargo lately, which was a topic that I’ll admit I was completely oblivious to 10 weeks ago.

LEgo

I have had a few parents ask me if I would be setting weekly topics.  Do parents really want set weekly topics or does this just make Show and Share more of a drama than it already is for us all? Although it would prevent the horrendous “shell” Show and Share dramas I mentioned above…………

Tell me what you think?

Today I am linking up with Essentially Jess for IBOT (I Blog on Tuesdays).

11 Responses to “Does anyone like Show and Share?”

  1. iSophie 09/04/2013 at 1:36 PM #

    Oh um.. well that was me yesterday, telling the 4 year old it was his show and tell day and to go in his room and find something. But! I do normally help the the day before to pick something with a bit of meaning and a story that they can tell their class. Today he took an Oshawott hat.. (a Pokemon). #teamIBOT

  2. Lisa Barton-Collins 09/04/2013 at 2:09 PM #

    As a parent I can tell you that all 3 of my children love show and tell. There is a bit of thought that goes into it, but we do not coach them on what to say as A, the teacher hasn’t asked us to do this and B, I thought it was a chance for the child to learn self expression. Our current prep teacher has an anything goes policy for the first term, then after that the show and tell item must be related to the letter or number of the day. I’m guessing she doesn’t let the children drag on and on, she has a curriculum schedule and as the teacher, she is the one in charge of the class room I guess 😉

  3. Kylie Ofiu 09/04/2013 at 2:12 PM #

    I am really bad and often forgot this term as our home life was very disrupted. I have been making more of a concerted effort and personally, wouldn’t want themes or anything. Like last week my daughter wanted to take her crystal, this week she is taking the photo of the snake she held at the zoo. I like to let her tell me what she wants to show and why, I don’t want to ‘guide’ her to a theme, but understand other parents might prefer it.

  4. Rina 09/04/2013 at 3:14 PM #

    Show and share would be fun activity. I think my boys will love it but up to know the school hasn’t ask for anything to show and share. Maybe because they are now still on KG one.

  5. Eleise 09/04/2013 at 7:38 PM #

    Please no themes. I struggle already with the many different things I need to do each day before school. I like that my daughter just picks something to talk about – easy 🙂

  6. Beck/craftypjmum 09/04/2013 at 7:51 PM #

    I am way past the show and tell years, but I did prefer when we had a weekly topic to follow. It seemed to take the stress of “what do we do this week” away. Good luck, it can’t be fun for teachers to sit through week in week out. Stopping by via IBOT

  7. mumstakefive 09/04/2013 at 8:15 PM #

    my son has show and share and everyone gets one turn a term thats it. You get a note the week before saying next week is your turn and what day it will be. You are not allowed to take in a toy. It has to be something you found, something you made, somewhere you went or something you love (not a toy!) They love it. Its only once and you have a weeks notice so you can think about it. Its a bit of practice for public speaking kinda thing (but i’m not a teacher so can imagine the torture) .
    Via IBOT x

  8. EssentiallyJess 09/04/2013 at 9:16 PM #

    We have set topics and it’s part of the homework assignment for the week to prepare for it, so we are always involved in it. On the weeks when they can choose whatever, it’s usually more thrown together, although my second daughter does love to plan every last detail 🙂

  9. BOYEATSWORLD 10/04/2013 at 7:50 AM #

    My son adores show and tell. Mostly because he loves an audience! 😉 But I’d prefer he shared something of real value. Like a painting or a photo of a great experience rather than showing of his toy collection!.

  10. Zita 10/04/2013 at 10:54 AM #

    I have done both. This year I didn’t have a roster or anything and kids just brought stuff in when they wanted and we did it when we had time, some items hung around for quite a few days! Some kids had something just about every day while others never brought anything in. I started the year off with a “ME” bag (found it on Pinterest, surprise surprise!) where I gave them an A4 sized ziplock bag and they had to put no more than 5 things in the bag that taught me something about them and we shared them whenever we had time. It was really interesting and helped me get to know the kids really quickly. I never like ‘forcing’ children to do show and tell as for some kids it totally freaks them out, then there are the ones who could stand there all day! In the past I have given a 3 minute time limit and set a timer, when the timer buzzes they have to stop. Then I only allow 2 or 3 questions depending on how many are ‘presenting’ that day. I like the ideas from mumtakesfive post!

  11. Rhianna (@aparentinglife) 10/04/2013 at 3:33 PM #

    I think that a bit of steering and topics being given is not such a bad idea, especially if you as a parent get stuck for an idea. However there is something nice about being able to choose your own when you are not stuck for ideas.

Leave a Reply

