Don’t you just love lnnocence?

16 Apr

Today at school we had a storm.  This is not unusual but the way it started was.

My class was out in the playground for our “Outdoor” time session.  I was with a group of kids near the sandpit purchasing an ice cream from the Cold Rock shop (as you do!), when a huge clap of thunder occurred.  My entire class (all 24 of them) stopped what they were doing and ran over to the classroom with a few even screaming.  I was left standing with my “sand” ice cream alone in the playground.

The rain then followed so we packed up and went inside.  As we assembled on the carpet I heard murmurs of “bumping clouds”, “God was angry” and even “giants”. After listening I thought it might best to have a discussion on thunder before we started our next session.

clouds

I asked the class if they knew what made thunder.  One little girl raised her hand and said she knew.  She then came up front and went into a great spiel about when the sky becomes crowded with clouds their edges sometimes touch each other which is what makes the thunder noise.  There were a few other nods of agreement from other students in the class, so we decided that it must be what happens.

I do believe I had a smile on my face during this discussion and it made me think that the kids I teach really are sweet and innocent, lucky them!

When was the last time you stopped and thought about what makes thunder?

Today I am linking up with Essentially Jess for IBOT (I Blog on Tuesdays).

7 Responses to “Don’t you just love lnnocence?”

  1. hopefulraeofsunshine 16/04/2013 at 6:14 PM #

    My mother always told me that thunder was just Santa moving his presents around….I still use that as the cause of thunder 🙂 Loved your post xx

  2. kvptlibrary 16/04/2013 at 6:47 PM #

    Reblogged this on Library blog KENDRIYA VIDYALAYA PORT TRUST, KOCHI.

  3. Becky from BeckyandJames.com 16/04/2013 at 7:49 PM #

    That’s so cute. Kids have such great ways of looking at things.

  4. iSophie 16/04/2013 at 9:23 PM #

    How cool are those kids. I was on an excursion on Monday with my sons kinder class, oh the things I heard, I had a smile on my face so many times from odd comments! #teamIBOT

  5. robyn @slightly deep 16/04/2013 at 9:35 PM #

    Kids are so great with their innocence and their wide open eyes. They give you such a fresh new perspective. Thanks for the remnder xxx

  6. Me 18/04/2013 at 1:11 PM #

    I love to see the world from the perspective of a child – it is always so innocent and literal !
    Have the best day !
    Me
    PS – sorry you didn’t get to finish your ice-cream !
    #IBOT visitor

  7. Rita Azar 18/04/2013 at 2:11 PM #

    Oh wow! This is so adorable!

Leave a Reply

