Google or YouTube?

23 Apr

When looking/researching something on the internet what is your preferred search engine Google or YouTube?

google

I ‘ll admit that I go to Google, apparently that however is “old school”.

The younger generation all head to YouTube.  Why you ask? Because it is easier to “watch” how to do something rather than “read” how to do something.

You_Tube

When you think about, they are right.  It is easier to learn something when you see it action.

So lately I have been trying to play the younger generations game by searching for things on YouTube.

 I’ve searched:

Hair and Make up Tutorials

Painting tips

Knitting

Cleaning tips

“How To” computer guides

My husband also spends hours on YouTube watching stupid (supposedly funny) clips.

I am pretty impressed with what you can find.

What’s the best thing you’ve found on YouTube?

Today I am linking up with Essentially Jess for IBOT (I Blog on Tuesdays).

8 Responses to “Google or YouTube?”

  1. rhian @melbs 23/04/2013 at 9:10 AM #

    I’m an old school googler I’m afraid. Although I did search youtube once to work out how to put my buggy up (and I still couldn’t work it out). I’m not sure I am quite ready to be down with da kids just yet!! 🙂

  2. mamagrace71 23/04/2013 at 3:15 PM #

    We love YouTube! It’s the best for getting hands on information on how to do things.
    By the way, you’ve won a copy of the Microsoft 365 software! I sent you an email! Please reply and send through your postal address so we can get you your prize ASAP! 🙂 x

  3. missrbit 23/04/2013 at 4:34 PM #

    I love both Google & YouTube but YouTube is so very useful to learn how to do something. I have used it to learn how to curl my hair with a hair straightener. I have also used it to learn how to change the element on my cooktop after it broke. #IBOT

  4. aparentinglife 23/04/2013 at 5:10 PM #

    I don’t really get You Tube. Mind you it is only in the last 12 months that I have been able to get myself to use Google. Call me old school I guess

  5. Have a laugh on me 23/04/2013 at 8:19 PM #

    I’m a Google head, just because I thought YT was just for videos, I’m such a fuddy duddy! Em x

  6. Twitchy (@TwitchyCorner) 24/04/2013 at 12:59 AM #

    I’m a googler but youtube is the planet my son lives on. My favourite things on youtube are silly or cute animal complilations, which are my go-to in time of need. Favourite things are: stand up comic routines, crazy cats or (dubbed) talking dogs. I cry! #teamIBOT

  7. EssentiallyJess 24/04/2013 at 9:11 PM #

    I use both. I love you tube for techy stuff, and for sewing. I even watched quite a few tutorials on how to do different hair styles. I’m probably easily 50/50

  8. Rita Azar 26/04/2013 at 11:56 AM #

    Yep, 50/50 for me too. You tube is very helpful for learning how to change things with my blog.

Leave a Reply

