My trip to Turkey

25 Apr

In 2007 my Mum and I went to Turkey.  We did many things while we were there (the story of the Turkish Bath is one for another day!) but we did include a two day today tour to Gallipoli in our itinerary.

VietnamCambodiaLaos 045

The tour bus was full of Australians.  We ranged in age from young backpackers to older Australians who were doing a once in a lifetime trip. One gorgeous man wore his Dad’s war medals the whole time we were there.  He was on his way home from a 12 week world trip and had carried them with him the whole way!

The one thing we all had in common was RESPECT.  We were all on awe of the beauty of the place and somber and respectful of the history that it held.

VietnamCambodiaLaos 031

(I may or may not have a pebble from ANZAC Cove)

As a teacher I always read the story of Simpson and his Donkey to my class.  You can imagine how honored I felt to see his grave.

VietnamCambodiaLaos 048

One thing I noticed as I walked around looking at the tombstones was how young they all were.  Some really were babies! Such brave young men.

We had a young man on our bus who wanted to find the grave of his Grandmother’s brother.  The cemetery where he was buried was not on our itinerary but everyone on the bus agreed that we should visit it.  Can you imagine of bus full of Australians being dropped of at a cemetery walking up and down looking for a grave of man none of us knew!  We searched until it was found, rubbed sand into the writing to make it stand out better for photos and all paid our respect to this brave young man.

VietnamCambodiaLaos 044

We saw the famous statue.  It is HUGE!

VietnamCambodiaLaos 049

I was surprised to see the trenches still visible.  ANZAC Cove is a scenic, serene place which is kept perfectly manicured.  Seeing the trenches really bought home what happened there.

VietnamCambodiaLaos 058

Since returning my husband has now said that he would like to go to Gallopli (I did this trip with my Mum during my husbands “I don’t travel” time of his life).  So, going back to Gallpoli for an ANZAC day service is another thing that has been added to my bucket list.

8 Responses to “My trip to Turkey”

  1. Denyse Whelan 25/04/2013 at 10:41 AM #

    Wonderfully said and thank you for posting today. It is my daughter’s wish to do this pilgrimage one day, but with 3 teens and a bub may need to wait a while. Beautiful pics.. D

  2. minsmash 25/04/2013 at 9:51 PM #

    Wonderful photo’s and what a fantastic experience to have been there. I hope to get there one day. So lovely that all the tourists on the bus were so behind the fella finding his grandmother’s brothers grave 🙂 Min xo

  3. Cathy 26/04/2013 at 7:19 AM #

    Hi Marleisa, I invite you to add this post to my Flashback Friday link up (http://bit.ly/ZwAdBs). Your description of the whole tour bus walking up and down the cemetery searching for that young man’s relative brought a tear to my eye. It encapsulates the Australian spirit. So glad you found it xx

  4. Have a laugh on me 26/04/2013 at 9:42 AM #

    I would like to be there for a service one day too, I got goosebumps seeing those trenches and gravestones.Lovely post. x

  5. Ness 26/04/2013 at 6:30 PM #

    My husband is very keen to visit Gallipoli. I’m not sure if we’ll ever make it there. It sounds like a really amazing and humbling experience. Great post.

  6. Nat @ Natalia Familia 26/04/2013 at 7:00 PM #

    Hi Marleisa, I was there in 2004, your photos bring back so many memories. It’s so eerie there, but also peaceful. I found it all very overwhelming. Great post. Thanks.

  7. Anne-Maree d 28/04/2013 at 8:02 AM #

    Great photos! We started talking about our Europe trip last night…..first stop will be ANZAC Cove.

  8. Leigh V (@sixbythebay) 29/04/2013 at 9:03 PM #

    Wow what an experience. I bet it was amazing to be there. Great photos!!! Thanks for linking up xx

Leave a Reply

