100 Item Declutter

28 May

Inspired by a blog post that I read about decluttering, I decided to take on a decluttering challenge myself.

The Challenge: Rid yourself of 100 items that you do not need.

I had this idea circling around in my head the day I cleaned out our office.  Our office was in a dire need of a clean up (you know when a room gets to a point where you just stand in the door way and place items in there – hoping that everything doesn’t fall down on top of you).

By the end of the office clean up I had a pile of items that we no longer used and were basically just storing (or maybe even hoarding).

I decided then and there it was time to declutter!

I found the first 40 items no sweat, then I had a bit of a slump before I found another 40 more.  I have to admit the last 20 items I actually had to open cupboards and look!. But I did manage to easily find 100 items that I no longer needed.

gumtree sale

So, what did I do with them you ask? I listed some of them on Gumtree (using the iPhone app) and the rest went into a box for St Vinnies.

I photographed and uploaded the saleable items onto Gumtree (I was calling it a Gumtree garage sale) for free.

sale

They were priced between $1 – $250 and I made $1148! Just for selling stuff I no longer used!

I was pretty impressed with my efforts.  Not all the items I listed on Gumtree sold so they were donated.

In the end I sold 82 items on gumtree and I donated 34 items to St Vinnies.

and my house now holds over 100 items less!

I am however concerned that I have some hoarding qualities – I sold 6 wallets/handbags on gumtree!

I dare you to do the 100 item declutter challenge too – you will surprise yourself (I actually think I could probably go another 100!).

Today I am linking up with Essentially Jess for IBOT (I Blog on Tuesdays).

16 Responses to “100 Item Declutter”

  1. Vicki @ Knocked Up & Abroad 28/05/2013 at 8:28 AM #

    Bravo! Nothing bettter than declutteing your life and even better feeling when you can make some $ from it. I’m currently decuttering as well. Its making me curious now… would there be 100 items and what could I sell???

  2. Katyberry 28/05/2013 at 9:26 AM #

    This is fantastic! We are thinking about selling and moving later in the year, so over the past 6 months we have started getting rid of things BIG time! I’m talking filling skips with rubbish that we had collected and weekly trips to the St Vinnies bins. It has made such a big difference in keeping our house tidy too – because we emptied out some cupboards we now have places to put the things that we use all the time.

    Genius!

    I’ve never used Gumtree, but I do occasionally dabble in eBay – it’s always the things I don’t think will make much money that sell well!

  3. Eleise @ A Very Blended Family 28/05/2013 at 10:35 AM #

    Wow what a great result!! How awesome that you made money as well. When I last moved, I brought a lot of stuff with me and we had a junk room, It took a year to get that room down to 5boxes and another year to make it one box. Each time I go through it I throw out some more stuff. I might try your 100 item rule.

  4. coloursofsunset 28/05/2013 at 11:05 AM #

    WOW!!!! I can’t believe you made over $1000 from things you don’t use any more! That was all the motivation I needed to try this challenge! ha ha!!! I think I have a weekend project! I bet it feels great to be rid of so much stuff, too! x Aroha (#teamIBOT)

  5. www.stephsjoy.blogspot.com 28/05/2013 at 11:56 AM #

    an awesome idea – have bought stuff off gumtree, might have to try and be a seller on it too

  6. Me 28/05/2013 at 1:59 PM #

    WOW – what a great project. I think I know what I am going to do. And thanks for the heads up about the gumtree app – sounds like it will make it so much easier !!!!
    Have the best day !
    Me

  7. Nikki Morgan 28/05/2013 at 2:16 PM #

    I have been doing some decluttering, but more is needed, 100 items coming up 🙂 xx Nikki @ Wonderfully Women

  8. Stacey-Lee 28/05/2013 at 2:33 PM #

    I couldn’t find 100 at the moment but that’s only because I have been on a long-term de-clutter and have removed almost everything un-needed from the house!! (although I do have 3 kids so there will be more un-needed regularly) It feels great to have less stuff laying around and having sold most items on a fb garage sale site, it feels even greater to have had cash instead!! Good luck with your continuing journey of de-clutter

  9. JD 28/05/2013 at 6:03 PM #

    That’s awesome. I think I need to do this challenge. Any tips for how to sell on Gumtree? I’ve been thinking I should do that for a while.

    • marleisa 28/05/2013 at 7:35 PM #

      Gumtree was so easy and free. I think you can upload up to 10 photos and you just set the price that you want. Put down your mobile number as people prefer just to text you about the items.

  10. robomum 28/05/2013 at 7:30 PM #

    I’m a chronic de-clutterer but there are some things I just can’t part with The thought of making some extra cash interests me, however….

  11. Kylie Ofiu 28/05/2013 at 7:43 PM #

    That is fantastic! I’m so happy for you. I am doing a HUGE cull as I am moving. I cannot believe how much stuff I have that I barely use! lol. Congrats on making so much money too.

  12. The Thrifty Issue 28/05/2013 at 8:09 PM #

    Awesome work! I was shocked when I read 100 things … but as I went through your list, I thought that was certainly possible and something everyone should do! Congratulations on your extra cash – and your clean out too 🙂

    • marleisa 28/05/2013 at 8:13 PM #

      It’s surprising when you add it all up. I did sell 10 magazine for $10 and heaps of scarves and clothes. Our best sellers was the stuff from the shed. Blokey stuff sold fast!

  13. Have a laugh on me 29/05/2013 at 8:05 PM #

    You have inspired me – I have stuff lying around that I haven’t used for the past 7 years – I need to do it! What are you spending the moolah on??
    Em xx

    • marleisa 29/05/2013 at 9:14 PM #

      I have something so so exciting planned for the money (not). It’s costing us $1200 to cut down two gum trees in our back yard. Hate being a grown up!

Leave a Reply

