From Boat Making to Leaf Painting – it all happens here!

7 Jun

Here is my Five for Friday teacher post.

Five things that happened in my classroom this week were:

  1. Boat Making was on the menu this week as we wrapped up our science unit.  By some miracle everyone managed to make a boat that floated!!boats
  2. 100’s Floor Mat – In the past few weeks my Year 1’s have gotten really good at the hundred board.  I think the pattern and structure of our counting pattern has finally clicked in!IMG_1433
  3. Money Shading – My class spent Half an Hour shading the front and backs of the coins.  They loved it and were totally engaged the whole time.  The funny thing was, this was an extra activity I thought of on the spot when we had a cancellation and ended up with some extra time I didn’t have anything planned for!IMG_1416
  4. God Made/Man Made –  This week we discussed things that make us go WOW.  We looked at which of those things were God made or Man made.IMG_1446
  5. Leaf Painting – This week for our paint experience we used paint spray bottles and leaves we collected from the playground to create these great leaf paintings.IMG_1445

Other than that I have been clicking lots of buttons getting my report cards done.  Hopefully I will have them finished tomorrow so I don’t spent ALL my long weekend doing them!

Today I am linking up with FLOG YOUR BLOG FRIDAY

2 Responses to “From Boat Making to Leaf Painting – it all happens here!”

  1. EssentiallyJess 08/06/2013 at 9:56 AM #

    I never knew you worked in a Christian school!
    My daughter made boats last week in her class too, but she said hers didn’t float. Must have been a design flaw 😉

  2. Jacana 09/06/2013 at 3:04 PM #

    I am also in the process of doing reports – feeling your pain. I should be doing them now but instead I am going on a blog wander whilst I work out a nice comment for a child who is challenging !!!

Leave a Reply

