Education in Finland

12 Jun

I have always heard great things about education in Finland.

In fact I don’t recall every hearing a bad a word about their system.

I found this on Pinterest the other day.

http://www.onlineclasses.org/2013/01/21/no-homework-in-finland/”>Finnish Education Infographic

Food for thought, Australia.

I am linking up with My Little Drummer Boys and Twinkle in the Eye for Wordless Wednesday.

9 Responses to “Education in Finland”

  1. loquacionist 12/06/2013 at 6:12 AM #

    I wish this graphic went into a bit more detail on how’s there’s no homework in Finland… It says kids get more time to be kids…I guess I’m just looking for more of an argument of why that’s a good thing? I don’t assign too much homework as a teacher, which is something I almost feel guilty about, like I’m too easy.

    Thanks for the post.

  2. Jacana 12/06/2013 at 10:03 AM #

    Facts for thought.

  3. Lisa@RandomActsOfZen 12/06/2013 at 1:30 PM #

    I’m so grateful for our amazing teachers, but know how hard it must be trying to do a great job with limited resources. I think 99% of you deserve a medal for your patience and dedication. 🙂

  4. Yvette @ Little Bento Blog 12/06/2013 at 1:46 PM #

    wow that is interesting!

  5. Cathy 12/06/2013 at 4:27 PM #

    I’ve seen these statistics before – very telling! It all makes sense to me and I’m a teacher. When you have a proven system, you have to wonder why governments don’t all follow suit.

  6. Have a laugh on me 12/06/2013 at 8:37 PM #

    I just had to post this on my FB page, thanks for sharing. Wish we could have a better teacher/student ratio! Thanks for sharing 🙂

  7. mummymanifestodotcom 13/06/2013 at 2:31 PM #

    A great post today. The smaller classes might make the students feel valued and the teachers have time to spend with each student to work on their problems? I have heard the no homework argument many times-I think it is brought in too early, but I am a mum not a teacher so sure my vote counts haha

  8. Trish MLDB 14/06/2013 at 5:18 PM #

    Very interesting infographic.

  9. Nina 24/07/2013 at 1:31 AM #

    Hi Marleisa,

    No homework is not exactly true: Finnish teachers do believe in the importance of homework as an opportunity to revisit what students learned in the class – however the amount of homework is age-appropriate and homework is never graded. The idea is to support students’ learning, not measure it.

    I was trained in Finland and worked there as a teacher before moving abroad. My book Choosing How to Teach tells more about the Finnish teaching-learning mindset. http://notesfromnina.wordpress.com/teaching-how-to-teach-teaching-how-to-choose-using-the-3cs-to-improve-learning/

    You have an interesting blog! 🙂
    Nina

Leave a Reply

