The Sports Carnival

18 Jun

Yesterday was every teachers favourite day of the year.

The SPORTS CARNIVAL.

When it comes to a sports carnival it comes with associated Murphy Laws.

  1. It will, with out fail, be a cold windy day.
  2. You will come home with dirt embedded in your clothes, hair and skin (I don’t know how PE teachers do it!).
  3. Kids will cry because a) they don’t want to run b) they didn’t win or c) they would prefer to sit with Mum rather than stay with their group.
  4. Pretty much all of your class will leave when their events are finished except for 3 students who you don’t know what to do with and have to babysit for the rest of the day.
  5. It will make any teacher, even if they never drink – want a beer at the end of the day.

sports_carnival

I dare you……..tell me what you LOVE about Sports Carnivals.

Today I am linking up with Essentially Jess for IBOT (I Blog on Tuesdays).

8 Responses to “The Sports Carnival”

  1. coloursofsunset 18/06/2013 at 7:53 PM #

    I used to HAAAATE sports day! I used to always “go to the toilet” (read: hide behind a building) when it was my turn to have to run! I don’t see anything good about sports day. x -Aroha (#teamIBOT)

  2. I don’t know how teachers do it! It’s hard enough being a parent watching!

  3. Denyse Whelan 18/06/2013 at 9:00 PM #

    When I don’t have a day of work at school that day IS my favourite day for a sports carnival. I went to my granddaughter’s first ever one as an onlooker…and that was OK-ish. Hate crowd control. BUT the last time I was a casual at the school and it was carnival day, I volunteered to do the coffee run..Yay.

    • marleisa 18/06/2013 at 9:02 PM #

      OMG……I didn’t even mention the pain of crowd control! Can’t believe I forget that one!

  4. Amanda - purely4kids 18/06/2013 at 9:07 PM #

    Ha ha – love it. I used to ask my mum to write me a note to get out of sports carnival when I was a kid. My own kids loooove it!!!
    #teamIBOT 🙂

  5. Have a laugh on me 19/06/2013 at 8:57 AM #

    It was cute at my girl’s first one last month – I rather enjoyed it – weird or what!

  6. Lisa 19/06/2013 at 1:54 PM #

    Ohh, memories of when I was teaching – I hated sports carnival day with a passion, I would always try and sneak off and be ‘busy’ doing other stuff!

  7. homelifesimplified 19/06/2013 at 4:50 PM #

    laughing at this – my oldest was the one who chose to be with mum instead of participating that first time (said she felt sick and i ended up taking her home) second year we really focused on the “don’t worry about how well you do, just join in” which helps since every year my girls finish near the bottom of the pack and celebrate not being last LOL – deb xx

Leave a Reply

