Things my class LOVE to do

21 Jun

Here is my Five for Friday teacher post.

This week I am sharing with you 5 things that my class LOVES to do.

  1. Marbles – I have had this container of marbles for 10 years.  It has been on a shelf in every classroom I have every taught in.  Previous classes have barely given this container a sideways glance.  However my class this year is obsessed with them!! Not a day passes without someone pulling them out to play with them.IMG_1471[1]
  2. Dead Fish – Everyday my class asks me if they can play dead fish.  In my opinion it would have to be one of the most boring games ever but not in the eyes of my class.  For those of you who don’t know how to play let me enlighten you.  Students lie on the ground and pretend to be dead.  If you move, twitch, wriggle etc you are out.  The person who can stay still the longest is the winner.  (I know it sounds strange but it is a really good way to calm kids down in they are a bit hyper!).IMG_1473[1]
  3. Best Tidier Balloon – Every day I give out a balloon to the student who is the best tidier after inside time.  It is such a BIG deal – you would think I was handing out $100 notes rather than just a balloon (oh it does get a funny face drawn on it too).IMG_1466[1]
  4. Comprehension Beach Ball – Every day after our story I choose three students to pick a comprehension question off the beach ball to answer.  It is a BIG deal to get the ball thrown to you. IMG_1464[1]

5. iPads – My class just love the four iPads we have.  We use them for literacy and maths small groups as well as an option during inside inquiry time.  I amazed that the novelty has not worn of yet (I even had tears yesterday because someone didn’t get a turn!).IMG_0654Five_for_Friday

Happy Holidays!

Today I am linking up with FLOG YOUR BLOG FRIDAY

3 Responses to “Things my class LOVE to do”

  1. tahlia - the parenting files 21/06/2013 at 2:46 PM #

    I used to love playing marbles! It was my lunchtime favourite ! And dead fish! fabulous x

  2. kazatmeltingmoments 22/06/2013 at 8:46 PM #

    I smiled at all of your five things. It’s funny how one year a class will take to something that a previous class didn’t. The comprehension ball is a GREAT idea! I may have to steal it! Thanks for sharing!

    • marleisa 23/06/2013 at 10:49 AM #

      Thanks, I just bought the beach balls through the school book club!

Leave a Reply

