Oh….. to be on holidays

25 Jun

It’s the phrase all teachers loath to hear “Oh, it must be nice to have two weeks off!”.

Well yes it is but rest assured I will not be spending the next two weeks lying on my couch.

Over the next two weeks I have to:

  • go to the dentist
  • get my car serviced
  • visit the hairdressers
  • have a facial
  • go to the chiropractor
  • read a book for book club
  • make a blog button (did this yesterday!)
  • organize myself for uni next semester
  • arrange for the tree lopper to come and cut down two gum trees
  • plan my Maths, English, Science, Social and Emotional units of work for next term.
  • set up home packs, spelling, sight words and reading programs for next term
  • clean my classroom top to bottom (Yes, the cleaners only mop the floors and vacuum the carpets)
  • make an outdoor blackboard for the playground
  • as well as the usual cleaning, grocery shopping, washing etc
  • and I would really like to make an effort to get to the gym EVERYDAY these holidays.

 Next term is 11 weeks long so I really need to make sure I recharge my batteries before next term starts.

So, I know it sounds crazy but these two weeks will fly by!

Yesterday I was able to cross one thing of my list……..Check out my new blog button!

Button

Today I am linking up with Essentially Jess for IBOT (I Blog on Tuesdays).

8 Responses to “Oh….. to be on holidays”

  1. Me 25/06/2013 at 11:04 AM #

    What a lovely blog button !!!!!
    I worked at a school for a few years and for sure the holidays aren’t all about doing nothing for the teachers – I was surprised at just how much some of them did during the holidays !!!
    Have the best time that you can !
    Me

  2. Bossymummy 25/06/2013 at 2:00 PM #

    My mum was a teacher, so I know all about the prep work involved – I don’t envy you. Make sure you do get to the gym each day so at least you get some time for you. Enjoy 🙂

  3. B Willis 25/06/2013 at 3:33 PM #

    Before you go to the chiro check out this website. http://whatstheharm.net/chiropractic.html

  4. Lisa 25/06/2013 at 6:01 PM #

    Ugh, I remember that from my teaching days – all my friends would assume I had two weeks off to do absolutely nothing, and I’d be knee-deep in planning for next term, doing lesson plans, working on resources etc. Hope you enjoy your ‘break’!

  5. Eleise 25/06/2013 at 6:15 PM #

    Great Blog Button! You forgot you have to be a mum these school holidays too! Enjoy the facial!

  6. Have a laugh on me 25/06/2013 at 9:49 PM #

    I have a good friend who is a teacher so I know it’s not all shits and giggles during holidays – good luck getting it all done 🙂 x

  7. Jacana 25/06/2013 at 10:08 PM #

    Like the new button.

  8. EssentiallyJess 26/06/2013 at 3:12 PM #

    Oh that does sound crazy!!!! Teachers do have so much work to do!!
    We have four weeks off at this time of year, and I love it. 🙂

Leave a Reply

