10 Things I’ve Learnt from Teaching

23 Jul

Today I am joining in the 10 Things I’ve Learned from Teaching party being hosted by Miss Kindergarten

10_things

Here are my 10!

  1. Every teacher must own a laminator (and shares in the company that makes laminating sheets).
  2. You can train your body to hold on all day and wait to go to the toilet until after 3.00pm.
  3. Never ever tie up boys shoelaces!
  4. Kids will call you Mum (not looking forward to the day when they slip out with Grandma though!).
  5. It will be quicker for you to pack all 24 school bags of your students in the afternoon than it is for the students to pack up their own.
  6. There will always be one child who is late, every single day!
  7. Students will notice your toe nail polish, run their hands over your stockings and tell you when your legs are hairy.
  8. Students will make you laugh…………every single day.
  9. A story read aloud can make every single student – quiet!
  10. A teachers job is never done! There is always planning to do, resources to make, assessment to be done  and more.

Today I am linking up with Essentially Jess for IBOT (I Blog on Tuesdays).

12 Responses to “10 Things I’ve Learnt from Teaching”

  1. Neets 23/07/2013 at 6:17 AM #

    Sounds like a very fulfilling job. No 3 made me chuckle…:)

  2. Madonna 23/07/2013 at 6:25 AM #

    Yes, Yes that is true!

  3. Jacana 23/07/2013 at 8:42 AM #

    I am nodding yes with each point. Students will also tell you when your hair needs a dye or a cut – honesty is abound.

  4. Circle of Toast 23/07/2013 at 11:29 AM #

    Ahh, yes, this brings back memories! I have a tattoo on my ankle, and the kids were always fascinated with it – many times I’d be sitting reading to them or whatever and I’d feel little fingers prodding my tatt!

  5. Rita Azar 23/07/2013 at 1:40 PM #

    Hahaha! #7!

  6. Rhianna (@aparentinglife) 23/07/2013 at 2:53 PM #

    Great list and thanks for sharing.
    Fairy wishes and butterfly kisses from #teamIBOT

  7. Me 23/07/2013 at 3:19 PM #

    I’ll be back to comment after I have bought my shares in laminating machines and sheets – be back in a little while !!!
    Have the best day !
    Me

  8. One of My Own 23/07/2013 at 5:17 PM #

    So true! I used to be a primary school teacher and I agree with every single one of those statements. One of the hardest jobs, but also one of the most rewarding.
    Thanks for reminding me of the joys of teaching xx

  9. Have a laugh on me 23/07/2013 at 8:31 PM #

    I hope my girl makes her teacher laugh!!

  10. robomum 23/07/2013 at 11:18 PM #

    Laughing at all of these, especially number 4. My teens call me mum and aunty all the time but grandma…. I ‘d die! 😉

  11. EssentiallyJess 24/07/2013 at 2:41 PM #

    My boy is the one who is always stroking his teachers arms and hair. I hope he doesn’t comment on the hairiness though!

  12. Zita 28/07/2013 at 11:57 AM #

    I can’e believe you have never been called Nan!! I think I’ve been called Nan, Grandma, and yep I have been called Dad!!!! DAD… seriously!

Leave a Reply

