The Daily Five – my way

2 Aug

Here is my Five for Friday teacher post.

This week I thought I would share with you how I run the Daily Five in my classroom.  This is the first year that I have used this literacy program and I am love love loving it.  I love that we talk about “good fit” books instead of levels, that students each choose their own five books to read for the week (a mixture of readers and non fiction books) and that we never have to sit in a circle and all the read the same guided reader about “Ned and his dog” (please insert sarcasm when reading the book title – seriously guided readers can be so boring!)

  1. Book: The Daily Five – If you want to do The Daily Five in your classroom buy this book. It tells you everything you need to know. I purchased mine from the fishpond website.IMG_1854[1]
  2. Book Storage – My class keep their five books in a folder. They then keep their folder in a magazine holder (one for each small group).  Yes I let my class choose their names for small groups so I have a group call “Lord of the Rings”!  The also keep their name pegs (5) in their folders.IMG_1849[1]
  3. The Daily Five Posters and Pegs  – After students have completed an activity they put a peg on the associated activity card.  This helps me keep track of who has done what each day.IMG_1845[1]IMG_1846[1]
  4. Base Activity – Read to Self is our base activity. So if you finish an activity you head straight back to the carpet to do read to self until your group is ready to do another activity.IMG_1305[1]
  5. Reading Sticks– I have a few little ones who still are finding left to right orientation tricky, so we made these reading sticks in our Daily Five time this week to help our eyes with reading.IMG_1842[1]

I really believe that by doing The Daily Five my students have more quality reading time each week.

Both my Preps and Year 1’s do The Daily Five and they love it!!

Today I am linking up with FLOG YOUR BLOG FRIDAY

Leave a Reply

