Meditating

22 Oct

My aim this term is to have weekly meditation time in my classroom.

I am hopeless at meditating myself.

I’m the lady who at the end of the Body Balance, when you are meant to meditate who is tossing and turning and working out what I am going to have for dinner.

At school we currently have “quiet time” where we turn off the lights and students choose to either lie down or read quietly.  It’s this time that I would like to turn into our meditation time.

med

So last Friday we had our first meditation attempt.

We turned the lights off, laid down, breathed in an out and started.

Then,

The phone rang.

The Year 7’s came to the door to deliver the message folder and

a huge clap of thunder occurred.

At this point I nearly shut the book and turned the lights back on but I persevered and finished the session.

I was beginning to think that the session had been a BIG waste of time.

Then afterwards I asked the class to tell me how it felt to be meditating.

Their answers included:

quiet

soft

special

calming

Umm not bad I thought for a class or Prep/Year 1’s.  I think they understood what I was trying to do.

So we will persevere and try it again this week.

Wish me luck!

Today I am linking up with Essentially Jess for IBOT (I Blog on Tuesdays).

 

10 Responses to “Meditating”

  1. laurenm83 22/10/2013 at 7:36 AM #

    I laughed out loud at your comment re: meditation time at the end of the body balance class – that is so me!! What a wonderful gift you are giving your students, I hope it goes well this week x

  2. Kylez @ A Study in Contradictions 22/10/2013 at 9:54 AM #

    Yep, that is me at the end of Yoga, I have to constantly remind myself to stop thinking about everything I need to do for the rest of the day!

    #teamIBOT was here!

  3. becc03 22/10/2013 at 11:17 AM #

    That is the thing with meditation, it takes time to be able to do it well and perseverance is required. I wish I had of learned meditation at school. I keep having a go, but somehow it continues to go in cycles – meditate for a week or two, forget for a month or so, start again 🙂

  4. yinyangmother 22/10/2013 at 11:56 AM #

    Well done on teaching the kids meditation. I try to be disciplined with my meditation but not as good as I could be. I’ve experimented with making a couple of kids meditation videos and would love to know what you think – I figure that our kids are so used to visual stimulation with games and TV that the visual medium could be used to calm and centre them. I’d love you to check them out http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jXbVd2VVNRo and http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=47qmNv38hrM

  5. yinyangmother 22/10/2013 at 11:58 AM #

    I hope this comment works as I tried previously – love that you are teaching your kids meditation. I’d also love you to check out a couple of kids meditation videos I’ve made – the idea being that our kids are so used to visual stimulation with TV and games that the visual medium can be used to calm and centre them too. Here are the links http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jXbVd2VVNRo and http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=47qmNv38hrM

  6. Emily @ Have A Laugh On Me 22/10/2013 at 1:44 PM #

    My brain goes in to overtime whenever it’s quiet and I’m not doing anything – I need music to stop me from organising what I’m having for dinner, work or what articles I need to write!! All the best for next quiet time!

  7. Alex aka WHOA MUMMA! 22/10/2013 at 2:37 PM #

    They should totally teach it at school. Getting the hang of it when you are older and have so many other things to think about it hard. I’m the fidgetter in yoga class too.

  8. Mrs H :) 22/10/2013 at 2:41 PM #

    Keep on going Marleisa! It is a great thing for the littlies to do! x

  9. Eva @ The Multitasking Mummy 22/10/2013 at 3:39 PM #

    So glad it worked and it’s great you got those responses!

  10. EssentiallyJess 24/10/2013 at 2:34 PM #

    You know I haven’t ever once tried meditation ever. Is that weird? I didn’t think it was that popular

Leave a Reply

