The School Fair Week

25 Oct

Welcome to another week in my Prep/Year 1 classroom.

This week has been huge as we prepare for the School Fair on Saturday.

Most of our focus this week has been on completing our paper mache’ animal scultptures………it is hard to put into words the fun involved in making these!!

Here is my Five for Friday teacher post.

  1. 100’s Board (Old School) – I found this old 100’s board in our shed.  It has been the perfect independent activity for math’s groups this week (and I also love how getting the numbers on and off the hooks is also good fine motor practice – bonus!!).IMG_2430
  2. The Domino Effect – Remember lining up your dominoes so they would fall over.  Well a few students spent ages setting this up with the class blocks during inside time this week.IMG_2456
  3. Birthday Season – October is the month of birthdays in my room. We have at least one birthday every week. Check out this pizza cookie one of the students bought in to share with the class!  Have you ever seen anything like it before?IMG_2429
  4. The Fantastic Flying Books of Mr Morris Lessmore – We are in love with this book.  I read my class the picture book on Wednesday. On Thursday we watched the book on the iPad (I beamed it up onto the whiteboard) and on Friday we plan to watch the short movie of it.  Obviously we will be comparing and contrasting the different media versions but we do love it!book
  5. Paper Mache’ Animal Sculptures- Every day this week we have been painting and decorating our animals and I am happy to report they are ready to go! Tomorrow we will be taking them to the art exhibition all ready for the parents to admire at the school fair on Saturday.IMG_2469

Well that’s another wrap – see you next week!

Today I am linking up with FLOG YOUR BLOG FRIDAY

One Response to “The School Fair Week”

  1. Cooker and a Looker 25/10/2013 at 7:11 AM #

    I’d completely forgotten about those hundreds boards – what great fun! And a pizza cookie? I think I just had a life changing moment!

Leave a Reply

