Melbourne Cup in Prep/One

6 Nov

Yesterday was the Melbourne Cup and we celebrated it well in my classroom.

We had a class Sweep.

IMG_2559

We coloured in a jockey and horse to match the horse we had drawn in the sweep.

IMG_2558

We made fascinators and hats.

IMG_2560

We all entered in Fashions of Field.

IMG_2565

We had a pciture of a horse race where we found and coloured in horses depending on their position.

IMG_2563

We had a hobby horse race.

IMG_2572

and finally we watched the great race on the Big screen!

IMG_2577

I LOVE these fun days!

I am linking up with My Little Drummer Boys  for Wordless Wednesday.

The post Wordless Wednesday – Teacher Humor first appeared on This is Who I Am by Marleisa

10 Responses to “Melbourne Cup in Prep/One”

  1. ann 06/11/2013 at 6:25 AM #

    That sure beats how I spent Cup Day!! What an awesome teacher you are.

  2. Bec @ The Plumbette 06/11/2013 at 7:38 AM #

    That is a brilliant day at school! I organized something similar for mums and bubs last year where everyone could dress up in their favourite dress or going out outfit and wear a fascinator. I had hat craft and colouring in too and we had a pin the tail on the horsey!! The sweeps were fun too. I love getting in on the fun with the Melbourne Cup.

  3. Neets 06/11/2013 at 10:46 AM #

    What a great idea! Gorgeous pics

  4. Annaleis from Teapots and Tractors 06/11/2013 at 11:08 AM #

    Hobby Horse races are just the best fun aren’t they. We have them around here regularly.

  5. Emily @ Have A Laugh On Me 06/11/2013 at 2:29 PM #

    You really are a special teacher! How much fun did that look?

  6. Trish MLDB 06/11/2013 at 3:07 PM #

    Great fun and fun pictures.

  7. Lizzy - Muddle-Headed Mamma 06/11/2013 at 3:11 PM #

    What a creative, energetic and inspiring teacher you are … you definitely have a real vocation for working with children. Thanks so much for sharing these gorgeous photos.

  8. Sarah 06/11/2013 at 7:35 PM #

    I used to love holding cup day celebrations in my classroom. And I never did manage to win the sweep!

  9. Alicia 06/11/2013 at 8:30 PM #

    So cool that you had a class sweep, it is an exciting race. I love all the activities you had them doing. I wish we had classes this cool 🙂

  10. Leanne @ Deep Fried Fruit 09/11/2013 at 1:09 PM #

    What fantastic ideas! Awesome teacher. I would love for my kids to be doing this.
    Leanne @ Deep Fried Fruit

Leave a Reply

