What’s with the Animals??

8 Feb

Today is Saturday – so I’m only 1 day late with my Five for Friday teacher post!

This week we commenced our weekly Show and Share session. Each student has been given a day to present to the class.  This term there will be no set topics as the aim is to just to get the kids talking and confident in talking in front of a group.  We had some very interesting presentations this week. Everything from chickens x 2, guinea pigs, mice, cow bones, birds eggs and flubber!

So here it is……my  Five for Friday teacher post.

  1. Show and Share – Show and Share this week had a very heavy animal presence! The kids loved it – the teacher however it not really an animal person! But one thing I have learnt in the past 12 years is the my classroom is not about me!IMG_3412
  2. Star of Day: We also started our ‘Star of Day’ this week. Each morning I give the class clues to work out who our ‘Star of Day’ will be.  That student gets to wear a special badge and completes special tasks through out the day (line leader, timetable person, IWB calendar person, illustrator of our daily interactive writing etc).IMG_3410
  3. Church Visit – We visited our Parish Church this week and met our local Priest.  He showed us around the church and we took photos of all the special things we could see.  When we returned we made a card for Father Brian to thank him for teaching us about the church.IMG_3431
  4. New Mobile – People who were following along last year would remember that I have a red/white spot theme happening in my room. I recently added this paper crane mobile from threefold. Love it!IMG_3411
  5. Bubble Painting – This week our painting experience was bubble painting.  We had a big talk about blowing not sucking the paint through the straws!!  We then used the bubble paintings to make butterflies during our inside time.IMG_3432IMG_3433

Well that’s another week in my classroom! Wish us luck for next week as we start attending assembly, Year 7 buddies, maths groups with parent helpers and making our first ibook!!

One Response to “What’s with the Animals??”

  1. Cybele Masterman 09/02/2014 at 9:10 AM #

    The bubble painting is gorgeous. I think we’ll have to give it ago and don’t get me started on the mobile – I love it! Cybele @ BlahBlah

Leave a Reply

