Handwriting Blitz Take 2

19 Mar

Last week I tried practicing our handwriting with 90 second fun activities (read about it here).

They were such a hit that I tried it again with 6 different activities.

I set up 6 activities to practice writing the letter ‘s’. ย The students spent 90 seconds at each activity and then moved on to the next one.

This week’s 6 activities were:

Activity 1. Marble writing at the easel.

IMG_3620

Activity 2. Writing using cotton tips and water paint.

IMG_3623

Activity 3. Masking tape on the floor and using a toy car to trace the letter.

IMG_3622

Activity 4. Writing under the table.

IMG_3625

Activity 5. ย Writing on paper using a crayon but with sand paper underneath.

IMG_3618

Activity 6. Writing in sand on top of a mirror.

IMG_3619

There you go…………another 6 fun and engaging handwriting activities (well as engaging as handwriting can be!!).

9 Responses to “Handwriting Blitz Take 2”

  1. Trish MLDB 19/03/2014 at 8:56 AM #

    Clever ideas – is this kinder ?

    • marleisa 19/03/2014 at 6:18 PM #

      I’m in QLD – I have a Prep/Year 1. I think Prep in QLD and Kinder in NSW are the same??

  2. ann 19/03/2014 at 12:49 PM #

    Awesome ideas. My sons class used a cutting wheel thing to trace their names. Another idea is black paint over coloured paper and then use something to scratch through to show the colour.

  3. Have a laugh on me 19/03/2014 at 1:19 PM #

    Great ideas, what a fun teacher you are! I might have to do this to get my daughter to practise her e’s, she does them in SUCH a long-winded way.

  4. Lisa@RandomActsOfZen 19/03/2014 at 1:23 PM #

    They’re lucky to have you for a teacher, sharing such fun things to help them learn.

  5. Alicia 19/03/2014 at 8:50 PM #

    These are great ideas. I’ll have to use these at home for practice ๐Ÿ™‚

  6. Sandie @ AppleBee Lane 21/03/2014 at 1:36 PM #

    Such clever ideas โ€ฆ I think kids love learning when it’s less formal, creative and fun.

  7. Shelley@MoneyMummy 04/05/2014 at 7:51 PM #

    Ooooohhhh I love these ideas! It won’t be long and I will be able to do them with my little girl!

  8. shelleyjmarsh 04/05/2014 at 7:52 PM #

    What fab ideas! I will be able to use these on may daughter soon enough!

Leave a Reply

