Outside Time

16 May

For this weeks  Five for Friday teacher post I thought I would showcase what “Outside Time” looks like for my class.  We have outside time 3 times a week (I wish we had it everyday but with the introduction of ACARA life in Prep/Year 1 is all about balance!).

 On the days we don’t have outside time we participate in PMP (perceptual motor program) activities.  I like to have my outside time/PMP activities first up in the mornings.  An OT once told me it best to get kids outside first up to get the sunlight on their faces to help clear the melatonin left over from the night before.

IMG_4147

  1. Obstacle Course: We start every outside time off with the obstacle course.  We always start off with some type of animal walk on the gym mats.  We are getting good at finding the word Start and finish!IMG_4119
  2. Sensory Activity: Each week I put out a sensory activity for the students.  This could be water play, cloud dough, rice or goop.  This week it was slime!! Oh…….they had great fun with this!IMG_4114
  3. Art – I also put out some type of art experience for the students.  Last week we taped butchers paper to a picnic table and gave the students crayons.  The boys loved colouring on it as the table have small grooves in it and gave an interesting texture.  This week I put out the paint easels.  It’s interesting listening to the students talk as they paint.  The other day we had a very interesting conversation about seasons going on!IMG_4117
  4. Stage – Each week we set up something different on the stage.  Last week it was a doctors – this week a police station.  I forgot to take a photo of this but I did take a photo of a student who numbered each of the pavers around the stage in an attempt to work out how many there were!IMG_4125
  5. Everyday Stuff – Each week we have stock standard equipment that we put out for the students.  These include sandpit toys, big blocks, skipping ropes, waffle blocks, scooter boards etc. IMG_3425

So there you go…..a peep into our outside time 🙂

Because it’s Friday I am linking up with FLOG YOUR BLOG FRIDAY

2 Responses to “Outside Time”

  1. This Charming Mum 17/05/2014 at 2:38 PM #

    All those activities look great. I’d never heard that about getting the kids into the sunlight early in the day – makes sense.

  2. Emily 19/05/2014 at 11:51 PM #

    Hi Marleisa,

    I just wanted to say that I adore how you include outdoor activities of all kinds (particularly the sensory activities!) into your program regularly, and obviously find them just as important as other areas of the curriculum 🙂 At the moment, I am a preschool teacher in Victoria, but I hope to move into Primary School in the future (I can teach to the end of Grade 6), and this gives me so much confidence that I’ll be able to take aspects of the play-based, holistic curriculum I use in preschool into the Primary environment! Your little kidlets are very lucky to have such a wonderful teacher 🙂

    Emily

Leave a Reply

