Handwriting Nazi’s

15 Aug

I’ve created handwriting nazi’s in my class.

When you teach Prep and Year 1 a lot of time is spent teaching the students the correct way to form their letters and numerals.

IMG_3570

Every week we have a handwriting “letter of week” that we focus on.  We do fun handwriting rotations where the students spend 1 min at each activity practicing writing the letter in a different medium (read about them here and here).  The year 1 students also have a formal handwriting text-book to practice their writing (not that I’m much of fan of this one).

 I’m starting to think I’ve been overdoing it a bit!

In the past week or 2 the students have been on my case! Whenever I write on the whiteboard in front on them they have been pretty quick to correct me if I incorrectly form a letter, pick up my pen in the wrong place or start my letter in the wrong place (I admit that today I did do a lazy capital A although most of the time I think I’m pretty right).

Don’t you love it when these type of things come back to bite you!

2 Responses to “Handwriting Nazi’s”

  1. Jody at Six Little Hearts 15/08/2014 at 11:30 AM #

    Oh boy aren’t kids masters of that! LOL!

  2. coloursofsunset 16/08/2014 at 8:01 AM #

    hahahaha Keep fighting the good fight Marleisa! Just remember to practice what you preach 🙂

Leave a Reply

